Merit Awards

  1. 1

In December 2023 the Arizona Sheriffs' Association hosted their inaugural Merit Awards Banquet. The goal was to recognize the sheriff's office employees that provide excellent service and exemplify the integrity of the office. In a competitive process, winners were selected in 12 different categories that pay tribute to the innovative and service-minded spirit of the men and women employed in sheriff's offices throughout the state. These winners highlight employee success as they find new and effective ways of upholding the standards of the office. 

2023 Merit Award Winners

Deputy Sheriff of the Year - Senior Deputy Carlos Olmos, Yuma County

Supervisor of the Year AZPOST - Sgt. Sergio Ochoa, Pinal County

Supervisor of the Year Detention/Corrections - Lt. Ariel Monge, Cochise County

Detention Officer of the Year - Officer Maria Maldonado, Pinal County

Innovation of the Year AZPOST - SORT Unit (Sex Offender Registration and Tracking), Pinal County

Innovation of the Year Jail Operations - (two winners)

                                                     Commander Matthew Searles, La Paz County

                                                     Technology Bureau, Maricopa County

Dispatch/Communication Member of the Year - Bradley Burch, Yuma County

Professional Staff of the Year - (two winners)

                                                     Technology Manager Scott George, Coconino County

                                                     Telecommunications Supervisor Lizbeth Huerta, Santa Cruz County

Search and Rescue Achievement - SAR Coordinator Ursula Ritchie, Cochise County

Medal of Valor - Eastern Area Command Unit: Sgt Brandon Rumpf, Sgt. Mark Hooten, Deputy Samuel Contreras, and Deputy Trystan McReynolds, Yavapai County

Medal of Merit - Lt. Alden Whipple, Navajo County

Purple Heart - (two winners)

                       Deputy Chris Oletski, Cochise County

                       Deputy Joel Chase, Pinal County